Environmental Heroes

Wednesday, September 30th, 2020: A celebration of our region’s environmental champions, and a benefit for RE Sources.

2020 event info

We live in a remarkable place with snow-capped peaks, forested trails, clear-running streams, and windswept beaches. Each year, we honor outstanding individuals who have been instrumental in protecting these places for generations to come.

These Environmental Heroes have accomplished inspiring feats and we come together to celebrate their extraordinary commitment to protecting the lands and waters that we all depend on. This magical night also reinforces the collective power of peers and friends to build a healthy, prosperous and sustainable future for all.

Our Environmental Heroes Awards Banquet is held each September and Heroes are selected in May of each year. The event is sponsored by generous businesses and individuals who are dedicated to the well-being of our region.

Due to limited seating, RSVPs are required to attend. This year’s event will be held on Wednesday, September 30th, 2020. For event or sponsorship questions, please contact Julia Spencer, Director of Donor Engagement, at 360-733-8307 extension 221 or JuliaS@re-sources.org.

Each year, RE Sources celebrates local leaders who make our communities and environment healthier and inspire others to do the same.

  • Executive Director Shannon Wright opens the award ceremony with a message of hope. Hear her message. 
  • 2019 award recipient Rosalinda Guillén, farmworker justice leader and food system activist with Community to Community Development, accepts her award with a few words. See her speech. 
  • 2019 award recipient Rachel Vasak, salmon steward and community builder with Nooksack Salmon Enhancement Association, accepts her award with a few words. Listen to her remarks.
  • 2019 award recipient Steve Garey, labor rights advocate and clean energy champion, accepts his award with a few words. See his speech. 

2019 – Rosalinda Guillén, Steve Garey, and Rachel Vasak.
– Carl Weimer and Crina Hoyer
2017 – Bob Aegerter, Dena Jensen, Ellie Kinley, Sandy Robson, and Jeremy Freimund, In Memoriam
2016 – The People and Communities of the Salish Sea: tribes, doctors, decision-makers, fishermen, religious groups, students, national organizations, ranchers, grassroots community groups, and people across the region who came together to defeat the Gateway Pacific coal terminal
2015 – Chris Moench, Eric Hirst, Larry McCarter of RDS, Pete Haase, and Sue Taylor
2014 – Martha Bray, Fred Felleman, Aimee Frazier, Mitch Friedman, and Duane Jager
2013 – Charlie Maliszewski, Alex Ramel, Jean Melious, Seth Fleetwood, Dan McShane, and Sharon Roy, and Saul Weisberg
2011 – John Davies, Marie Hitchman, Bill Dietrich, Robyn du Pre, Gerald Larson, and Bellingham Food Bank
2010 – Jim Hansen, Sally Hewitt, David Ostlund, Kelli Finet, and Jenessa Moore, Laurie Caskey-Schreiber, and Dan Warner
2009 – Barry Wenger, Kyle Morris, Gordon Scott, David MacLeod, and Mike and Elaine McRory
2008 – Al Hanners, Roberta Vollendorff, Donna Merlina, Jim Edwards, and Tim Wahl
2007 – Russell Ford, Mark Ritter, Louise Bjornson, Harriet Spanel, Jeff Daffron, Alan Weydert, Carol Rondello, Colleen Berg, Jeff Brown, Paul Schissler, Martin Passmore, Bill Sterling, Stephen Frank, Dennis Smith-WWU, Jim Schuster-WWU, Northwest Clean Air Agency, City of Bellingham, Whatcom County, WA Department of Ecology, Sanitary Service Company, Northwest Recycling, Brown & Cole Inc., Jack Weiss, Carl Weimer, Lisa Friend
2006 – Bert and Sue Webber, Patricia Otto, Scott Delbecq, Veronica Wisniewski, Derek and Michelle Long, Marian Beddill, Sarah Wheatley, Katy Scherrer, and John Miles
2005 – Wendy Walker, Wendy Scherrer, The Vander Haak Dairy, John Blethen, Doug Clark, Hilda Bajema
2004 – Joy Monjure, Sherilyn Wells, Community Food Co-op, Dorri Belisle, Rand Jack, Bob Keller, George and Lois Garlick, and Lou Parberry Sr.
2003 – Don Shepard, Bruce Barbour, Michael Cochrane, A-1 Builders, Frank and Mary King, Marlene Robinson and Bruce Brabec, Katherine Dalen and Skip Williams, and Geoff Menzies

Special thanks to our generous business sponsors:

2019 Environmental Heroes Sponsor logos

Sign up for our eNews

Kick back and let us send you local climate and environmental news, updates, and action alerts.

Photo © Buff Black